Pastors – Be Careful!

pulpitAs I was writing the last post, I suddenly couldn’t think of the word “honorarium.”  My mind kept going blank.  Every time it seemed to flit through my tired brain…..poof!  It was gone again.  Blaaaahhh.  Holy Spirit Was so Clearly Present and Helping.  I was given the idea to do a search on what traveling evangelists, teachers and preachers got paid, to look for that elusive word.  Anyway, this article “jumped” out at me as I scanned the search. Maybe, it’s because I try so hard to give all the honor and glory to God?  After all, Holy Spirit IS The Power Behind our talks!  I just LOVE when He Is Reigning in me and Raining through me as I teach and preach.

In fact, since the mid 1990’s, I have learned to take a moment at the pulpit before I begin.  I lay myself down flat out, face down, before The Throne of God.  I surrender myself, heart, soul, mind, body, thoughts, will, desires, etc., etc., etc!  I ask The Father to Allow Holy Spirit to Use me However and Whenever He Chooses to Touch His people.  He Does.  Sometimes the Anointing is so thick I feel like I’m sitting inside of a foam rubber cushion of His Golden Light.  It’s amazing.  He Told me He Calls this “The Heavy Weight of His Glory.”  It’s not only “not to be missed,” but, to be absolutely and humbly cherished.  It’s such a special time with Him, following His every Prompt, Move, Word.

So, I came across this article moments ago, and realized there are some other things I do that were not mentioned in preparing to speak somewhere.  I get alone with The Lord several times seeking His Guidance as to WHAT HE WANTS.  What message does He Want?  What research do I need to do?  Is there a graphic way to present the information that He Would Like?  Do I need to purchase items to put together a  model, example or manipulative that will really get the points across?  Do I need to get things printed or enlarged to explain things?  So I research for days, and write.  I continually seek His Advice and Guidance. “What needs to be changed, added to, developed more?  Is there anything You Want Added, or taken out?”  It is a working relationship with Holy Spirit that I truly cherish.  That’s how my books get written, too.  Researching, writing, preparing, traveling, and all that goes with speaking takes time, energies and monies away from other work The Lord Would Have us do for Him.  It takes time out of our lives to sow into the lives of others.  That’s a privilege.  Yet, our expenses continue no matter where we are, and increase if we have to travel.  Many of us do not receive a pastor’s salary as we are not affiliated with a particular church.  That’s part of what being “set apart” is all about.  Then, of course, you keep yourself on constant alert while at the pulpit, for His Promptings and Leadings.

Remember the widow woman who cared for Elijah and saw to his needs.  He went as The Lord Led, but didn’t spend weeks in preparation, nor did he have cell phone bills, paper and toner costs, etc! Don’t worry!  We’ll be returning to those times pretty soon.

Please remember to care for the speakers you bring to your churches.  Their ability to pay their own bills and continue doing the work of The Lord can sometimes be dependent upon the receipt of appropriate honorariums.  I have lived now, for over 5 1/2 years on a moment by moment basis, never knowing where the next monies were coming from.  God Always Provides.  He Blesses those who bless His prophets and servants.

This man makes a number of very valid points in his article.  All I’m saying is that if God Allows that person to come to your church to speak, it requires a great deal on their part.  Make sure you care for them the way you would want to be cared for if you were the one traveling.  As this man mentioned, sometimes there’s no remuneration.  Even Paul collected funds to keep his ministry going.  Let’s do what’s right before God.  After all, Holy Spirit Has Invested a great deal of time, energy and more into those that God Has Raised up.

When you honor God’s Servants, you honor God.  If you don’t honor them……the reverse is true.  You dishonor God.  Of all the myriad of responsibilities that a pastor has, this is an important one before God.  When you honor His Servant…He Will Be Sure to Honor and Bless you and your congregation.

Fair Payment for Speakers | John G. Stackhouse, Jr..